Then late last year, I read The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf and decided to try eating ancestrally. Even after a few weeks I felt I was heading in the right direction. While I didn’t actually lose weight, my body shape started to change. My waistline became more slender – exactly what I was hoping for. Paleo, primal, slow carb or ancestral eating, whatever you call it, there are many benefits of eating grain-free. From improving your blood chemistry, to losing weight, to increasing your energy levels, to improving your sleep and more. It’s almost been 9 months since I started eating grain-free. I’m finally in a place where I’m happy with my weight and I’m really enjoying what I eat. I’m running about one third of the distance I was last year. No more pounding the pavement to make up for what I ate. But the best thing has been discovering that it’s much easier to ditch grains than you would think. In most cases there is a vegetable which fills the place of your bread or pasta or rice. And often they taste just as good, if not better than their grain equivalent. So today I wanted to share a few tips for eating ancestrally. Enjoy!

‘Carotti’ Bolognese Recipe

serves 2+ This is my minimalist version of a beef ragu or bolognese sauce. The secret is in the butter. Feel free to substitute your own favorite pasta sauce. 450g (1lb) minced (ground) beef 3 cloves garlic, chopped 2 cans tomatoes (400g / 14oz) large knob butter 2 medium carrots

Grain Free  15 Tips for Eating Ancestrally - 45Grain Free  15 Tips for Eating Ancestrally - 94